Heart of the Beast (1998)

Marking the Brothers of the Baladi’s turn to electric and eclectic World Music, including dashes of Latin, Reggae, Blues and Afropop mixed with Middle-Eastern styles, plus updated, rocked-out versions of folk songs from Turkey, Lebanon, Persia and Yorkshire. Includes the band’s take on the Yardbirds’ Over Under Sideways Down.


Featured Artists

  • Michael Beach lead vocals, Arabic tabla, doumbeg, mizmars, riq, def, drum kit, timbales, congas, bongos, marimba, tambourine, zils
  •  J. Michael Kearsey, producer, lead vocals, bass guitar, keyboards, percussion
  • Geoff George, lead vocals, keyboards
  • Peter Helfand, lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, marimba
  • Ishmael, kanoon, baglama saz

Track List

1. Heart Of The Beast (Funky Middle Eastern Rock)
2. Flower Of The Stone (Persian Love Song)
3. Over Under Sideways Down (The Yardbirds Classic)
4. Love My Love (World Beat meets AfroPop)
5. Cut Diamonds (Latinesque Love Song)
6. Separation (Middle Eastern Rock Love Song)
7. Marie Don’t Want Me (World Beat Love Song)
8. Bir Demet Yasemen (A Dozen Jasmine Flowers for You)
9. Haunted House (Middle Eastern Blues)
10. Gamil Gamel (Beauty Like No Other)
11. Where Does The Wiseman Go? (Middle Eastern Reggae)
12. Country Boy (Ska-Tish World Beat)
13. Pushin’ Shoes (Funky Afro Pop)
14. Tren Gelir – Train Song (Turkish World Beat)
15. Olmaz Olmaz (Never Say Never to the One You Love)