Eye on the World (1994)

Produced by Michael Shrieve of Santana fame, this World Beat CD features updates on traditional Middle Eastern songs, and includes the band’s cover of the Rolling Stones’ Paint It Black as heard on NPR.


Featured Artists

  • Michael Beach: lead vocals, doumbek, drum kit, tar, riq, mizmars, zils, bongos, midjwiz, mezhar
  • J. Michael Kearsey: vocals, electric bass guitar, percussion
  • Michael Shrieve: drum kit, timbales, percussion
  • Tariq Banzi: vocals, oud, nay, bouzouki, darbuka, riq
  • Atilio: keyboards
  • Stephen Skaggs: clarino
  • Mel Kubic: soprano sax
  • Youssef Boutros: violin

Track List

1. Mastoom Mastoom (Traditional Persian Folk)
2. Ah Ya Zein (Traditional Arabic Folk)
3. Oud Taxim (Improvisation on the Oud)
4. Lamma Bada (Andalusian Arabic Samai Music)
5. Voyage (Journey Through the Doors)
6. Bouzouki Taxim (Improvisation on Greek Bouzouki)
7. Paint It Black (The Rolling Stones go to the Middle East)
8. Backbeat (Drums Galore!)
9. Gole Sangiem (Persian Love Song)
10. Dere Dere (Turkish Folkloric)
11. Twa Corbies